Broadway World UK Awards 2015

broadway-world-blogLondon Theatre Workshop celebrates the news that it garnered a number of nominations at the 2015 Broadway World awards. First up, our Artistic Director, Ray Rackham, has been nominated for Best Director of a Musical Production for LTW’s first export, the transfer of Ray’s own musical as lyricist-librettist Apartment 40C to the St James Theatre in April (music Tom Lees). The critically acclaimed Apartment 40C has also been nominated in the Best Musical category, alongside LTW’s sell-out smash Parade, directed by Jody Tranter, with Musical Direction by Erika Gundesen. Parade is LTW’s most successful show to date, with regular queues for returns throughout the run in September. Additional Creative nominations include a well deserved nod to Adam Scown, for Best Choreography, again for Parade.

In the Performer Categories LTW is very well represented, with Alex James Ellison receiving a Best Featured Actor nomination for his performance of Eddie in the St James Studio transfer of Apartment 40C, Liberty Buckland receiving a Best Actress nomination for her ground breaking portrayal of the lead in Yarico (produced by Jodie Kidd and her father John), and Dean Bray being nominated for Understudy of the Year in Parade.

Our 60 seat, studio theatre has also received a nomination in the coveted Theatrical Venue of the Year category.

Artistic Director, Ray Rackham, said “delighted is somewhat of an understatement. London Theatre Workshop continues to go from strength to strength, and in our short history we have established ourselves as a home for talented theatre practitioners to create; either side of the footlights. I am particularly thrilled with the Performer nominations. Any fringe theatre is only ever as good as the people who spend countless weeks, months (and in some cases years) in preparation of opening those house doors and inviting an audience into another world; be that seventeenth century Barbados, a loft apartment in Manhattan or the Old Red Hills of Home. My very best wishes to all nominees.”

Vote Now